Testimonials

What visitors say about us

 

No one can describe the Eyes on Africa Safaris experience better than our guests.

Real and unedited testimonials submitted by guests after returning from their safari, you can find below.

We have had a splendid visit to Kenya, and my wife and I will like to thank you for the very well planned safari. Also we will like to send our regards to Maxwell, who I must say are one of the best drivers I have met, so please let him know that we enjoyed the drive as well as his company. I hope that in the future we can plan another trip, this … read more We have had a splendid visit to Kenya, and my wife and I will like to thank you for the very well planned safari. Also we will like to send our regards to Maxwell, who I must say are one of the best drivers I have met, so please let him know that we enjoyed the drive as well as his company. I hope that in the future we can plan another trip, this time including Tanzania and perhaps Uganda.

Steffen C. Vestergaard with family

Steffen C. Vestergaard with family, Denmark

We selected Eyes-on-Africa to organize a trip to Kenya for my family of 4 (two young teenage kids) in late August 2014 based primarily on the great reviews we found on Tripadvisor. Roman put together an initial itinerary for us and then adjusted it according to our expressed requests. We had little knowledge of Kenya and no pre-concieved notion of … read more We selected Eyes-on-Africa to organize a trip to Kenya for my family of 4 (two young teenage kids) in late August 2014 based primarily on the great reviews we found on Tripadvisor. Roman put together an initial itinerary for us and then adjusted it according to our expressed requests. We had little knowledge of Kenya and no pre-concieved notion of what we should include in our first trip to Africa - which had been on our 'bucket list' for some time. Roman helped make us feel confident in his itinerary and did a great job at allieving our concerns about safety and security (thank you Roman...we might not have come otherwise). Suffice it to say he did not dissappoint. Our trip included stops at various places (Lake Baringo, Navasha, Maji Moto, and Maasai Mara) and they were all great (really liked our 2 days at Lake Baringo). Maxwell was our personal guide for our entire 12 night stay and he did a magnificent job. He was friendly, funny, interesting, informative, and an exceptional game drive guide. Thank you so much Maxwell...you made us all feel very safe and enabled us to have a trip of a lifetime! If you're thinking about a trip to Kenya, I highly recommend using Eyes-on-Africa...they really were great! Visited August 2014

dave j

dave j, Canada

Based on recommendations from friends who have already travelled with them and reading reviews we chose Eyes on Africa to organize our trip to Kenya for our family of 5 (three kids age 13, 7, 5) in February 2016. Already prior to our trip Roman was very helpful in advising us on an itinerary that would best fit our interests and duration of stay. … read more Based on recommendations from friends who have already travelled with them and reading reviews we chose Eyes on Africa to organize our trip to Kenya for our family of 5 (three kids age 13, 7, 5) in February 2016. Already prior to our trip Roman was very helpful in advising us on an itinerary that would best fit our interests and duration of stay. During our trip we visited Crater Lake situated next to lake Naivasha, Maji Moto eco camp, and Maasai Mara, which were each in its own way just great. For families with children we would in particular suggest spending a couple of relaxing days at Maji Moto, exploring the surrounding nature and getting insight into Maasai way of life. Throughout our 6 day tour Maxwell was our personal driver and guide. We very much enjoyed his company as he is really warm and friendly guy, exceptionally knowledgeable on Kenya, its history, culture, wildlife,... and above all a very experienced game drive guide. All in all, If you are considering a trip to Kenya or Tanzania we would strongly recommend Eyes on Africa! Luka & Tina, Lana, Natan, Val Visited February 2016

lukav278

lukav278, Slovenia

My wife and I, along with another couple went on two one-week safaris in Jan/Feb 2005 with Eyes On Africa. We had a wonderful time, were very pleased with all the arrangements, and would recommend this company to anyone. Our driver and guide were wonderful, and we were happy to be in a Land Cruiser and not a mini-van, as we saw several of those … read more My wife and I, along with another couple went on two one-week safaris in Jan/Feb 2005 with Eyes On Africa. We had a wonderful time, were very pleased with all the arrangements, and would recommend this company to anyone. Our driver and guide were wonderful, and we were happy to be in a Land Cruiser and not a mini-van, as we saw several of those from other tour companies have difficulties (getting stuck, etc.)

Albert Parsons, Minnedosa, Manitoba

Albert Parsons, Minnedosa, Manitoba, Canada

We would like to thank you for making our Kenyan holiday a great one. Both Peter and Eric were terrific and your organisation, professionalism and communication was exemplary. We will certainly recommend you to our colleagues and friends. Thanks again.

Brett, Nicole, Shania and Tia

Brett, Nicole, Shania and Tia, United States of America

We live in Kenya, and hosted a number of extended family for a holiday visit. Eyes on Africa provided us with a four day safari to Samburu, accommodating our travel needs to be picked up in Nairobi and dropped off in Eldoret, where we live. Ben and Patrick did a good job as our guides/drivers. We spent one night at the Umoja Women's village … read more We live in Kenya, and hosted a number of extended family for a holiday visit. Eyes on Africa provided us with a four day safari to Samburu, accommodating our travel needs to be picked up in Nairobi and dropped off in Eldoret, where we live. Ben and Patrick did a good job as our guides/drivers. We spent one night at the Umoja Women's village cottages, run by the incredible Rebecca. While these accommodations aren't luxurious, they are very affordable. Hearing Rebecca's story and visiting her village of safety for abandoned Samburu women and children was a cultural highlight of our trip, and very warmly recommended. We spent the next two days at the Sopa Samburu, which was lovely. There were very few visitors, and the staff was warm and very accommodating. A lovely stay for 14 people, ranging in age from 10 to 70. Eyes on Africa tries to go beyond the standard safari experience and provide their guests with rich cultural experiences and environmentally conscious tours. I especially appreciate the social awareness they bring to the safari circuit. If you're heading to Samburu, be sure to ask them to take you to Rebecca's village! The Umoja women will give you a warm and authentic welcome, and don't forget to look over their collection of handmade beaded jewelry. Stunning. Visited December 2014

RosemaryShenk

RosemaryShenk, Kenya

Thanks Neva and Roman for organising my short Kenya tour this year. Your flexibility and attention to detail was excellent. Trying to get the time at Shimba Hills had proved to be difficult with other organisers, as most of them would rather that I fit in with their plans instead of organising what I want when I want it. Moses, my driver/guide was … read more Thanks Neva and Roman for organising my short Kenya tour this year. Your flexibility and attention to detail was excellent. Trying to get the time at Shimba Hills had proved to be difficult with other organisers, as most of them would rather that I fit in with their plans instead of organising what I want when I want it. Moses, my driver/guide was excellent - both with the tracking and spotting, with interesting (and amusing!) background from his Masai heritage. I particularly enjoyed seeing him jump into the Land cruiser one day in his Masai clothing! As my favourite location in the world, I will doubtless be back to Kenya for more photography before too long, and I will be sure to be in touch again. Thanks again and good luck!

Charles Tomalin

Charles Tomalin, United Kingdom

Eyes on Africa safari arranged our 6 day trip to Maasai Mara - 3 nights at Maji Moto Eco Camp and 2 nights at Basecamp inside the Maasai Mara. Everything about the trip was perfect starting with the planning all done online. Eyes on Africa was quick to respond to my emails and very helpful in planning a once in a lifetime experience at a very … read more Eyes on Africa safari arranged our 6 day trip to Maasai Mara - 3 nights at Maji Moto Eco Camp and 2 nights at Basecamp inside the Maasai Mara. Everything about the trip was perfect starting with the planning all done online. Eyes on Africa was quick to respond to my emails and very helpful in planning a once in a lifetime experience at a very reasonable price. Both places we stayed at were terrific. Our driver and guide, Joseph was very helpful and knowledgeable. He went out of his way for us to see the Big 5 - which we did! Seeing 5 leopards was a treat and as I have been told, an unusual experience. His stories and knowledge about the area and animals made the trip even better. Having been in Kenya for 5 weeks prior to this trip doing research, I was becoming use to people being late and things not running smoothly. I did not have to worry with Eyes on Africa- Joseph started out on the right foot by being on time and the whole trip went as planned. Arranging this trip completely online from the US made me nervous but no concerns at all with this company. I will absolutely use them again and recommend them to anyone I know wanting to go on a safari no matter what the budget may be. Visited February 2016

Twdoc504

Twdoc504, Florida

I just had the pleasure of touring Lake Manyara, the Serengeti, Ngorogoro Crater and Tarangire Park on a 7 day Safari with my wife and mother in law. What a fantastic trip!! Roman and Omar were wonderful to plan the trip with and always very responsive. We could not imagine having a better and more informed guide and companion than Peter Mapinda … read more I just had the pleasure of touring Lake Manyara, the Serengeti, Ngorogoro Crater and Tarangire Park on a 7 day Safari with my wife and mother in law. What a fantastic trip!! Roman and Omar were wonderful to plan the trip with and always very responsive. We could not imagine having a better and more informed guide and companion than Peter Mapinda who seemed to be able to make the animals appear on command. The trip far surpassed any expectations we could have had as we saw literally hundreds of lions, elephants, leopards, cheetahs, wildebeest, zebras, hippos, and giraffes just to name a few, all within a few feet of our vehicle while staying at lovely full service resorts each night. There were times when it was hard to believe what we were experiencing. Peter and Omar also went above and beyond to make everything right after an unavoidable situation occurred having to do with airport transportation which really says a lot about them. We would not hesitate to recommend or book through Eyes On Africa Safari again and truly appreciated Peter's friendly and even keel good nature as well as his seemingly limitless knowledge and expertise. Asante sana!! Visited July 2014

Todd G

Todd G, California

Our tailor-made safari experiece with eyes on africa was a fantastic experience from the first contact e-mail. We are a family of 4 with a 10 year old and 14 year old from Canada. We were looking for a mix of safari and cultural experiences with walks and biking to break up the drives. We had a Skype conversation with EOA so we could talk about our … read more Our tailor-made safari experiece with eyes on africa was a fantastic experience from the first contact e-mail. We are a family of 4 with a 10 year old and 14 year old from Canada. We were looking for a mix of safari and cultural experiences with walks and biking to break up the drives. We had a Skype conversation with EOA so we could talk about our ideas and they could give us their ideas and thoughts. From there EOA developed an itinerary for us to review and make some further choices. They were always quick to respond, efficient, included detailed information and costs. They plan well and are very organized. You can trust you will get at an unforgetable trip created as you wish. The accomodation was perfect for us, each place was unique in it's own way, with it's on personality. Many great locations. The food was good everywhere we stayed. EOA can choose just the right accomodation to suit you, they know all the options. The guides are great and really make the safari experience with their expertise and knowledge. Our guide, George, in Kenya was excellent. We enjoyed his company and learned so much about Kenya and its wildlife from him. He gave us so many experiences we will treasure, up close and personal with so many animals, bush breakfasts, sundowners, stories... Eyes on Africa is the company to go with if you are planning any kind of trip to East Africa. They will make it an unforgetable experience! Thank you Roman and Omar Visited August 2014

e h

e h,

My wife and I went on Eyes on Africa's "Great Wildebeest Migration" in late July and August 2014, and it was a trip we will remember for the rest of our lives. Eyes on Africa's driver/guides took excellent care of us -- George in Kenya, Alex in Tanzania -- the vehicles (land cruisers) were good, and the itinerary is well thought out. The highlight … read more My wife and I went on Eyes on Africa's "Great Wildebeest Migration" in late July and August 2014, and it was a trip we will remember for the rest of our lives. Eyes on Africa's driver/guides took excellent care of us -- George in Kenya, Alex in Tanzania -- the vehicles (land cruisers) were good, and the itinerary is well thought out. The highlight was the Maasai Mara reserve, one of the most amazing experiences we've ever had. We saw lionesses with their cubs, a lioness hunting and killing a wildebeest during a river crossing, cheetahs and pythons sunning themselves, baby elephants and baby giraffes nursing, and much more (I'm still going through all my pictures). George was an excellent, very hard-working guide, and we loved staying at the Matira Bush Camp in the Mara reserve, and also enjoyed the Maji Moto eco camp and the Mara West camp outside the reserve. Crossing into Tanzania, we first went to Speck Bay Lodge on Lake Victoria, a nice, luxurious change of pace for a night, and then went into the Serengeti National Park. We enjoyed the park, and George also did a great job helping us see all kinds of wild life (prides of lions sunning themselves on huge rocks; trios of lionesses hunting; ostriches mating; many more). We also really enjoyed our night at the Sopa Lodge on the rim of Ngorongoro Crater. We did not like the Ikoma Bush Camp outside the Serengeti Park; the food was really awful, I would not recommend it to anyone. Eyes on Africa: Roman was very easy to work with planning and booking our trip, communicating by email and skype. In addition to the 10-day safari, he was also helpful booking stays in Nairobi and Zanzibar before and after our Safari. I got sick for a couple days while in Nairobi, and the Eyes on Africa staff were attentive, checking up on me after we'd started on our Safari. We did have trouble with our flight from Arusha to Zanzibar at the end of the Safari: the local airline (Precision Air) switched the departure airport and time for the flight, and Eyes on Africa did not get us to the airport on time (and by then Precision Air had downgraded the size of the aircraft, bumped us from the flight, and lied to us about departure times) . . .so we missed the flight and ended up spending 8 hours stuck in a small airport trying to find alternative arrangements. Omar from Eyes on Africa wasn't able to find us an alternative, so we missed an evening in Zanzibar, but Omar did stay in touch with us until we finally got on a flight to Zanzibar late that night. We always prefer to work with a travel company based n the countries where we're traveling, and I'm glad we picked Eyes on Africa. All in all, this was one of the best trips we've ever taken. Visited August 2014

finman66

finman66, New York

We had a great time with our family in Kenya. We saw the big five, lions and a hyena having dinner and also the great migration! Thanks to our driver and guide 'Papa Simba' who was taking care of us and learnt us a lot about the animals and the culture in Kenya. Thanks Eyes on Africa, Papa Simba, the Masai at Maji Moto Eco Camp and Kenya for the … read more We had a great time with our family in Kenya. We saw the big five, lions and a hyena having dinner and also the great migration! Thanks to our driver and guide 'Papa Simba' who was taking care of us and learnt us a lot about the animals and the culture in Kenya. Thanks Eyes on Africa, Papa Simba, the Masai at Maji Moto Eco Camp and Kenya for the wonderfull time we had! We will return and visit your country again! Visited August 2014

David V

David V,

What an amazing time we had! Our family went on a 12 day long safari with EOA. Eleimentaita, Baringo, Naivasha, Maji Moto, and The Masai Mara were unbelievable. Our driver Maxwell was very very good. His knowledge was unreal and his eyes could find anything! I have no idea how he does it. He found us the "big five" (Elephant, Rhino, Cape Buffalo, … read more What an amazing time we had! Our family went on a 12 day long safari with EOA. Eleimentaita, Baringo, Naivasha, Maji Moto, and The Masai Mara were unbelievable. Our driver Maxwell was very very good. His knowledge was unreal and his eyes could find anything! I have no idea how he does it. He found us the "big five" (Elephant, Rhino, Cape Buffalo, Leopard, Lion) in only 4 hours... We saw two wildebeest crossings, a cheetah hunting a warthog, and lions mating. Fantastic lodges, great food and a wonderful guide! Highly recommend Eyes on Africa, and highly recommend Maxwell!

Zach J

Zach J,

This was our first Safari, but it was exceptional: The organization through Eyes on Africa was very efficient and thanks to Roman we were able to get a good offer extremely fast. His suggestions for the iternary improved our trip. We spent 2 nights in Masai Mara in the Matira Bush Camp (Standard Tents) which was comfortable and perfect for our … read more This was our first Safari, but it was exceptional: The organization through Eyes on Africa was very efficient and thanks to Roman we were able to get a good offer extremely fast. His suggestions for the iternary improved our trip. We spent 2 nights in Masai Mara in the Matira Bush Camp (Standard Tents) which was comfortable and perfect for our needs. It was inside the park, allowing us to have a head-start and observe animals early in the morning (before breakfast under a lonely tree amidst a herd of wildebeest). The driver George Siamito is increadibly knowledgable, friendly and helpful. With his vast knowledge he was able to show us the best places in the reserve and was often there before the other drivers to observe the animals perfectly. Thanks to the Land Cruiser we were able to travel on roads where other vehicles would have gotten stuck in the mud. We even managed to see a leopard and George arrived exactly at the right moment and placed the car such that it would approach us directly, without disturbing the animal. He knew not only the big animals, but also all the birds and plants, making our tour extremely instructional. We hope to repeat this experience in the future! Visited August 2013

Hannes R

Hannes R, USA

We are very happy to let you know that we made the right choice of safari and travel organizer for our east Kenya vacation. To choose “Eyes on Africa” turned out to be the perfect choice and most satisfying since we have a special interest in the culture and nature of the country. Our expressed requests and needs of what we wanted to do and see … read more We are very happy to let you know that we made the right choice of safari and travel organizer for our east Kenya vacation. To choose “Eyes on Africa” turned out to be the perfect choice and most satisfying since we have a special interest in the culture and nature of the country. Our expressed requests and needs of what we wanted to do and see were met in an extraordinary professional and satisfying way. “Eyes on Africa” have a broad knowledge and a true expertise in travel organization. Their people were extremely service minded and showed an enthusiasm beyond what could be expected. Not only did “Eyes on Africa” show us the beautiful Kenya, its culture, animals and nature, just as important they also made us feel very comfortable with practical arrangements such as accommodations, transportation, nature and cultural guiding. If you plan a trip to Kenya, and want to get the most out of it, you should doubtfully use “Eyes on Africa” as your tour organizer, and we guarantee that you will get full satisfaction and unforgettable memories. Bengt Silverin (Professor of Zoology, University of Göteborg. Sweden; Member of the International Ornithological Committee) and Björg Silverin

Bengt Silverin and Björg Silverin

Bengt Silverin and Björg Silverin, Sweden

Safari with Eyes on Africa was one of the best things I did in my life and I will definitely come and see you again, because you gave us such a great insight in everything in Kenya, people, nature, animals, tradition and that is something that we will never forget. We've been to many many countries around the world, but Kenya and experience with … read more Safari with Eyes on Africa was one of the best things I did in my life and I will definitely come and see you again, because you gave us such a great insight in everything in Kenya, people, nature, animals, tradition and that is something that we will never forget. We've been to many many countries around the world, but Kenya and experience with you was definitely a highlight that we always like to talk about again and again. Can't wait to be there again. Many regards and kisses for Neva, Anna, Moses and you from Makarska.

Jadranka and Suzana

Jadranka and Suzana, Croatia

We searched a lot of different companies to do our safari.. and very glad with did it with eyes on Africa... all was well planned.. our Guide Mussa was at the end a new brother for us ! Safaris are just the company and guides you have.. there are lots and lots of companies.. we hate group travels! So this was just US two and our guide.. with … read more We searched a lot of different companies to do our safari.. and very glad with did it with eyes on Africa... all was well planned.. our Guide Mussa was at the end a new brother for us ! Safaris are just the company and guides you have.. there are lots and lots of companies.. we hate group travels! So this was just US two and our guide.. with flexibility to stop, take our photos and very personal touch! Visited September 2015

magdabruna

magdabruna, Florida

Firstly may thank you all for your individual part in our recent holiday to Kenya. We arranged the holiday at fairly short notice last December, and offer our thanks to Laura for her skill in organizing flights, accommodation etc to our very exacting requirements including being in a specific place (Lake Nakuru) for the morning of the Annular Solar … read more Firstly may thank you all for your individual part in our recent holiday to Kenya. We arranged the holiday at fairly short notice last December, and offer our thanks to Laura for her skill in organizing flights, accommodation etc to our very exacting requirements including being in a specific place (Lake Nakuru) for the morning of the Annular Solar Eclipse. From previous experience, to complete all the required transactions with only 1 phone call and 3 emails was exceptional. From the moment of our arrival at Nairobi until the moment of our departure we were looked after by George Siamento our guide and driver from Eyes on Africa Safaris. We consider this to have been a most excellent piece of luck. George is a warm character, helpful and personable, probably the best and most knowledgeable guide we have met in recent years. He maintained our itinerary for the trip and also provided variations as we requested thus making the trip, both interesting and relaxing. His skill in spotting game from 2 miles or so was amazing and provided such great photographic opportunities that we were regularly the first and sometimes the only ones on the scene. If we had had one, we are sure that our tick list would have been completely full with bonus marks awarded particularly for being so close to some of the big cats and away from other vehicles at the same time. Our best moment came on Friday 15th January when we arrived just before dawn at Baboon Lookout facing east and overlooking Lake Nakuru. The three of us were alone except for a few baboons for almost half an hour before others began to arrive. The Lake was like glass and the dawn light provided a magical and unforgettable pre-eclipse spectacle. All thanks to George for locating and taking us to this superb viewing platform. The solar eclipse was excellent, a ring of fire is rarely seen. Lake Nakuru and the eclipse were our specific holiday highlight, but mention must be made also of the other places we visited. Beautiful Crater Lake, especially the game walk with Elijah on the first afternoon, walking so close to so many wild animals generates a really good feeling. Sarova Lion Hill Lodge was good, especially the food. Maji Moto – along with a Dutch couple, we renamed it Magic Moto. The Masai looking after us are wonderful people, fun, helpful and informative – especially Sankale Ntutu, who also has a keen sense of humor and how Nakola the chef managed to produce such food in his small kitchen amazed us. Masai Mara – the camp was not as we had expected, with rows of tents overlooking the plains, but secluded and in the bush thus giving it a genuine feel of the wild. Overall we had a great time but all too soon the holiday was over and it was time to return home. We have no doubt that we will return to Africa again, most likely for the Total Solar Eclipse 3 Nov 2013 perhaps earlier one can never know. If it had been possible, we would have stayed longer in Kenya but our resources did not allow for it this time. When our safari came to an end, we realized that we had come to regard George not just as our driver/guide but as a long lost and newly found friend, for it felt as though we had known him for ever. We will try and maintain contact and also will perhaps consider what we could do for the school at Maji Moto. Our thanks again to all involved, but especially to our friend George.

Chaz & Sue Stevens

Chaz & Sue Stevens, United Kingdom

Scroll to top